Where Hello Kitty Addictions Start

I think there are a few special groups of Hello Kitty fans/addicts out there and I’m curious what kind of addict you are.

my hello kitty desk

Hello Kitty Ladybug – a gift from my niece
Hello Kitty in Kimono – a gift from my brother from Disney World
Hello Kitty Paper Clip Holder – a gift from my friend/co-worker Amy

Must Have More Addict – There are some fans who adore Hello Kitty to the extreme and will collect anything and everything Hello Kitty. There will never be enough ways to package Hello Kitty and thanks to Sanrio, you don’t have to worry, there’s always more cute ideas. They have storage and displays dedicated to just Sanrio and frankly I’d love to see all the cute stuff they’ve got.

Nostalgic Fan – Me! I’m someone who started off as a “Must Have More Addict” when I was young. I had this one huge drawer with everything Sanrio in it and organized neatly (perhaps I have a bit of OCB too!). Then, I became older and only bought the occasional Hello Kitty item to suit my life like a notebook or pen for my purse. But, most stuff actually are gifts from friends like my Hello Kitty paper clip holder on my desk.

Passed from Mommy – These are daughters of either of the first two categories. If I had a daughter, I know my urge to spend a LOT on Hello Kitty would be in full force. Yes, we Nostalgic Fans can relapse back into Must Have More addicts. Sorry, but Thomas the Tank Engine just isn’t as cute as Hello Kitty.

So, I’m curious. Are you one of the 3 addicts above or would you define your love for Hello Kitty differently?

2 Responses to “Where Hello Kitty Addictions Start”


  1. 1 Vicky Poole June 21, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    There is another addict! The older person who would have everything HK but is restricted by family who thinks “she is a bit old” for this – so only gets the practical items like stationery and purses etc and has to put up with the “you’re not wearing that are you?” when I wear my HK coat. But HK is slowly wearing them down – I’m getting personalised HK number plates from husband (and it’s his suggestion!) and various gifts from the other family and friends (because its easy anything HK Vicky will love!!)

    • 2 houseofkitty June 22, 2009 at 10:35 am

      The great thing about being an older addict is…now you have the money to buy whatever you feel like! 🙂


Leave a Reply

